I Love Etsy Alchemy!

Etsy has rolled out a new feature very recently called Alchemy, which “is a space on Etsy where buyers can post requests for custom items”. I absolutely love it and think it’s one of the smarter features on the site!

It starts with a buyer posting a request for a specific/custom item and in their request, their price and timeline is specified. Etsy sellers like myself can look at all the listings and bid on projects that they can make while meeting the price and time guidelines. I’ve actually already bid on 2 projects just today!

I love it because it really provides sellers another way to gain exposure and revenue on the site. In my case, I bid on a project to make some business cards – something that I don’t offer in my shop but I know how to do. In fact, I actually design and print all of my business cards in house.

If the buyer accepts my bid – great! That’s not only money in my pocket but another person that is now aware of Keepsake Couture. And even if my bid is rejected, it’s still a great way to make customers who might not ever know I exist otherwise aware of the company. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

3 Responses

  1. i’ve looked at that and have been curious. would love to hear your experience if you end up doing a project!

  2. I’ll let you know! Apparently, though, Alchemy isn’t a new feature – it’s just been revived. I love it and am looking for a reason to finally put an item up for people to bid on!

  3. I checked it out after reading this post. It’s so cool. Unfortunately, I never get time to really explore all the possibilities of etsy. But I will soon! =]

    Jane
    http://mywoodenrobot.org

Leave a Reply

