Take 5 – MyWoodenRobot

I was so excited to interview Jane from MyWoodenRobot! I’ve been a fan of her shop for some time now and a Take 5 was a great way to find out more about her work. They have recently launched their Spring 2008 Collection and their new products are so much fun and so colorful. As a proud owner of their MatchBook NoteBook, I can tell you that it is not only super adorable, but purse-tested and approved!

Tell us about yourself and your shop.

I’ve been crafting and creating for as long as I can remember. I just never knew there was a whole community of crafters out there until recently. I love to do all things creative from cooking to design and I think MyWoodenRobot (the blog and the store) really reflects my interests and style. I originally wanted to design t-shirts and bags, but due to limited funds and experience, we decided to move into paper goods and I’m enjoying it just as much.

My boyfriend, Sergio, is a really big influence in the product line. We both have very different and distinct styles (he’s more urban, I’m along the lines of Sanrio and bright colors, what can I say?) and I think that’s why our designs appeal to all kinds of people.

MWR_1

Where would you like your shop to be in 1 year? In 5 years?

My blog is as much a part of my life as my shop is so in a year, I’d like MyWoodenRobot to gain a strong following for the blog and store. I’m hoping to begin vending at local craft fairs within the next year. And beyond that, I’m working on MyWoodenRobot becoming a household name and a place people go to for shopping guides for handmade stores and the go-to store for fun, functional, and practical designs and products.

Oh and maybe quit my day? =D

Looking back, if you could do anything differently in starting your business, what would it be?

I’m pretty impatient when it comes to starting things up. Looking back, I probably would have taken more time to do research and develop my design style and create my business. But no regrets here. I learned and I’m moving forward. =]

MWR_2

What is a typical day in the office like for you?

I work primarily from home and from our “office” a.k.a. Sergio’s house. I’ll usually check my email first thing in the morning, do a little window shopping on Etsy and decide which products are news worthy so I can give my readers a heads up on what’s hot and hopefully help boost sales for the person’s store.

Then, I’ll drive over to Sergio’s house and begin developing new designs and products for the MyWoodenRobot store. He’s a big part in the design process as he’s an artist as well and is pretty darn crafty. We’ll collaborate for hours and even days on themes, design concepts, and new techniques we can incorporate into our products. Right now, we’re working on going beyond paper products and into silk screening tote bags, t-shirts, and lots of other things.

As a seasoned entrepreneur, what advice or words of wisdom do you have for those that are just starting out?

I’m not so sure I’m as “seasoned” as everyone else. MyWoodenRobot has only been up for about 4 1/2 months now but if you’re counting by learning experiences, well, I may as well be an expert!

My advice for those of you who are starting out is not to think about the sale. Design, make, create from what you think is not just good, but great. Design for yourself. In the beginning, I made the mistake of thinking about the possibility of money, but now that I create for myself, I’m finding more success because buyers can tell the difference.

Be patient. I interview lots of Etsy sellers and they all have the same advice because it’s true. Don’t expect to get your first sale the minute you post an item. It takes time to get people to notice you and once you get there, it feels amazing!

For more on MyWooden Robot, check out the shop and blog!

One Response

  1. Thanks for this! It was so much fun! =] Glad you like the MatchBook NoteBook! I’m using my Plaid Zebra as we speak.

Leave a Reply

