Take 5 – Jennifer Squires Productions

I was so struck the beauty and simplicity of Jennifer Squires’ photos! A relatively new shop on Etsy, Jennifer uses her art “to search for simplicity and meaning in the beauty of the everyday.”   

Tell us about yourself and your shop.

I have been photographing professionally since 1996, but I’ve been taking pictures my whole life.  I opened my Etsy shop in February 2008 – it’s been great for me, I work from home but the Etsy community never lets me feel as though I’m by myself.

My work covers a broad range of categories, from shopping carts to gerbera daisies, but I always find that I focus on the details of life.  I am constantly inspired by the world around me and I use photography to search for simplicity and meaning in the beauty of the everyday.

Where would you like your shop to be in 1 year? In 5 years?

In a year from now I’d like to have built a large, strong, online customer base.  I’d like to offer a wider range of subject matter and I’d like to focus more on larger images and image collections.  I hope to be in a position to advertise more and to further develop my website. 

Five years?  That’s quite a long time.  In five years I hope to have a lot of repeat business, I’d like for my clients to come to me when their wall art needs to be refreshed.  I really hope that in five years time there are more earth-friendly options for photographic printing.

 

Looking back, if you could do anything differently in starting your business, what would it be?

I’d have started my business sooner.  I found it hard to put myself out there.  My photography is the way that I see the world, and rejection of it is a lot more personal.  But now that I’ve come this far I know that taking the risk, showing the work can be the biggest confidence builder of all.

What is a typical day in the office like for you?

Typical days for me are cyclical. I’m just wrapping up a new body of work (Flora) and now I find I’m spending more time marketing rather than creating.  I get up at 7am and get myself ready for the day.  Check into my Etsy store and see if there’s anything that needs tending too.  Flip through some blogs for inspiration for future projects.  Contact people that have requested information and send out press releases.  Go to the lab if prints need to be picked up.  At 11am, I check email then I have a break.  Twenty minutes of yoga then lunch.  In the afternoon, I package up anything that needs to be shipped, check into Etsy forums, see how my shop is doing, tend to matters that arose in the morning, and begin my to do list for the next day.  My days are ever changing but that’s where I’m at currently.

As a seasoned entrepreneur, what advice or words of wisdom do you have for those that are just starting out?

Don’t spend too much time in the beginning working on branding.  Just get your stuff out there for the world to see.  As your business grows you’ll gain a better understanding of the direction you’d like to go in and who your target market is, then you can focus more on your logo and identity.  Stop dilly-dallying and show us what you’ve got! 

For more on Jennifer Squires Productions, check out her shop and her website!
2 Responses

  1. Thank you so much for your kind words and support! I love your work!

    :Jennifer

    http://www.jennifersquires.ca
    http://www.jennifersquires.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

