Take 5 – Blaze Danielle

I found out about Blaze Danielle’s amazing artwork while visiting other WordPress blogs and I’m so glad I did! Her Etsy shop is full is beautiful prints of different characters, animals, and scenes. Check out the fabulous interview with this talented artist!

Tell us about yourself and your shop.

My name is Blaze Danielle Robertson and I am a junior in college majoring in illustration. I decided to start my store at age 20 so that by the time I graduate, I can have a little launching point for freelance illustration and a foot in the art world. My shop is currently all illustration prints, however it’s going to be changing soon – at least there will be more types of goodies! This summer I am happy to say that I’m going to do Etsy full-time! Expect big things from the Blaze Danielle Etsy store! πŸ˜‰

I have been creating ever since I can remember. There is even a home video of me painting with watercolors when I was three and it made me just as happy as it does now! I remember sewing aprons in first and second grade during “choice time.” College has just focused my excitement, and has taught me how to use my talents.

Where would you like your shop to be in 1 year? In 5 years?

In one year, I will be graduating and to be honest, I really hope to immediately shift into being a full time artist. This is a high goal, but I hope that my shop will grow in the next year so that I can ultimately jump head first into the art world, paying the bills one print at a time. πŸ™‚

In five years, I hope to be a successful Etsy seller and perhaps on my way to publishing some children’s books. I’d like to be working from home and creating every day.

My dad has given me great advice that has stuck with me: “When you do what you love, the money will come.” I think this is exciting and I am willing to work extra hard to do what I love.

Looking back, if you could do anything differently in starting your business, what would it be?

Looking back isn’t that long ago for I just opened my shop this past fall. However, I wish I had participated in the Etsy forums earlier! There’s so much help and support over there. A beginner can find a lot of encouragement and many friends just by striking up a conversation.

What is a typical day in the office like for you?

I am currently in school right now so I try to make time for personal art whenever I can. I even have specific “studio days” when I dedicate a whole free day to art time. This summer, I plan on blogging in the morning, painting in the afternoon, and crafting in the evening! I am excited to see how it goes!

As a seasoned entrepreneur, what advice or words of wisdom do you have for those that are just starting out?

I would advise to make personal studio time and to stay disciplined with making art. Take many walks, think out ideas, journal down your inspirations, get excited over little ideas, protect those ideas, make the most of studio days, get involved in your Etsy community, and self-promote!

To find out more about Blaze Danielle, check out her shop and blog!

3 Responses

  1. Oh! Excellent interview! I’ve discovered your blog through Danielle’s blog! Hello! I think Danielle has SO much to offer, her illustrations are endearing and child-like! Her character is shining and sweet!

    Thank you for posting this!

  2. Thank you for letting me participate in your Take 5 interview! πŸ™‚ I loved answering all your great questions!

  3. Just found you through Blaze’s blog, and really enjoyed his interview. It is always so exciting to read a little about the person behind the page πŸ™‚ I’m off now to check out your shop!

Leave a Reply

