Take 5 – Macaroni and Glue

Macaroni and Glue’s stationery is fun and fabulous! With styles that range from feminine to classic, there’s something even for the most particular of card buyers. Kelly, the artist behind all the fabulous greeting cards, announcements, and invitations gave us a peek into her world with a Take 5 – check it out!

1. Tell us about yourself and your shop.

My name is Kelly Drill and I’m a stay-at-home mom, political activist and habitual entrepreneur. Since leaving my corporate job to stay home with my daughter, I’ve done everything from designer clothing resale to multi-level marketing. I’m happy to say that I finally feel at home with what I’m doing.

Macaroni and Glue has been around for a little over a year and started completely as a fluke. I’d been making handcrafted gifts for friends and family in an effort to save money after leaving my job and made a set of thank you cards for my sister’s baby shower. People seemed to love them and pretty soon I had several orders for custom invitations, announcements, note cards, etc. Just from friends, family and referrals, I had more than enough work to fill all of my available free time. I was having so much fun designing that it never really occurred to me that I’d started a business.

My sister came across Etsy and it seems to be a perfect fit – it offers me an online storefront with a minimal investment, allowing me to focus my resources on advertising and pursuing business opportunities off Etsy.

In addition to my Etsy shop, I have a portfolio on Trunkt.org and several of my note card sets and greeting cards will be available at Flourish Boutique in South Bend, Indiana – grand opening in June!

2. Where would you like your shop to be in 1 year? In 5 years?

I don’t have a particularly aggressive one-year strategy since my first priority right now is being a mom to my two-year-old. In the immediate future, all I ask is that I break even financially and continue to see growth in my design work. At the end of my first year, I hope to have established several wholesale relationships and to expand my presence in brick and mortar shops, both locally and beyond.

Ultimately, I would love to transition Macaroni and Glue into an online boutique that features an eclectic mix of emerging artists and designers – that’s the five-year plan.

3. Looking back, if you could do anything differently in starting your business, what would it be

I would have started it sooner!

4. What is a typical day in the office like for you?

Complete chaos. Literally.

In addition to my rambunctious preschooler, we have a black Lab puppy, I provide part-time childcare in my home, and I’m the Fundraising Chair for my local Democrats group. I wake up between 4 and 5 a.m. every day just to have a little bit of quiet time in which to (hopefully) be creative.

Beyond that, all my work is done in “stolen moments,” those few and far between times when no kids are awake, the dog’s not destroying anything, and there’s a little bit of time before dinner needs to be ready. And an amazing amount of my work is done via my beloved iPhone.

5. As a seasoned entrepreneur, what advice or words of wisdom do you have for those that are just starting out?

I say this all the time and even struggle with this myself, but I think it’s really important to know what you want from your business and to tailor your shop-keeping activities accordingly. It’s better to do one thing well than to do a thousand things badly, and it’s easy to get caught up in all the hoopla and try to stretch yourself too thin. You don’t have to belong to every street team, be on every social networking site, go to every craft fair and have shops on five different craft sites. Just do what you do, present it well, and then develop a cohesive plan for sharing what you do with others.

For more on Macaroni and Glue, check out the blog and shop!

Leave a Reply

