I Want to Quit My Day Job!

I’m sure this is every crafter’s dream, is it not?

Now, don’t get me wrong – I love what I do for a living. I’m actually using the degrees I worked hard to attain and I have a job that I like. Also, I get to have a personal life with this job which is not how it’s always been. I used to be on email by 6:30 a.m., in the office by 8:00 a.m., then home about 7:00 p.m. only to get back on the computer about 9:30 p.m. At this job, I actually get to go home at 5:00 p.m. and not have to worry about it until the next morning. Simply put – it is fabulous! I get to go home and spend time with the fam and work on KC stuff.

But that’s simply not good enough. It would be amazing to be able to stay home, do this full time and make a decent living out of it. I stayed home last year for about 3 months before the baby was born and had the opportunity to work on Keepsake full time and I really enjoyed it. The down side was that I hated to spend any money because I felt that I wasn’t bringing enough in.

This has been a good year for KC – my  best to date. I think the fact that I’ve really honed in on what I want the product line to be has helped so much with finances. I’m not going paper-happy and buying everything that I like. Instead, I look at everything twice and make sure that I have a project in mind before splurging. (There is no doubt that paper is my weakness!)

So…with finances is double check, I’m looking forward to someday quitting my day job! Hopefully next year I’ll be able to come out with my own designs adorning some fabulous notebooks and be able to go from there.

First things first – I need to school up on some Photoshop and Illustrator! I would appreciate any tips you would care to share. 🙂

Leave a Reply

